Skip to content
Project background (updated October 2025)

Heritage Alteration Permit #HA 24-012449

The City of Richmond is undertaking repairs required to maintain the Shipyard building, including:

  • roof replacement and installation of roof anchors to facilitate future repairs;
  • repairs to or replacement of damaged siding;
  • repairs to or replacement of damaged or missing windows and doors;
  • replacement of damaged or missing gutters;
  • reconstruction of chimneys; and
  • repairs and improvements to the substructure to allow a winch system to haul boats on the ways.

The Shipyard Building is a protected heritage building and integral feature of the site. The City is working with qualified heritage professionals who are guiding every decision on the construction approach, in keeping with Parks Canada’s Standard and Guidelines for Heritage Conservation. The building’s siding and windows are being brought back to the 1930s appearance. This is the time the building was converted into a shipyard. At that time the fishing industry was doing well and the building would have been built with care in keeping with the pride the industry had in its work. Archival images and evidence on the building itself are guiding each decision.

  • Where possible existing wood will be retained or repurposed to maintain a consistent weathered look. Due to significant deterioration, the siding on the east side of the building is being fully replaced with salvaged fir that has been cut to size. The western and southern elevations will be a mix of original building materials and new reclaimed material depending on the extent of deterioration.
  • All windows will be refurbished or replaced and painted white. They will be set into frames with red sills and trim.
  • Three doors on the south elevation are being repaired of reconstructed and painted red to match original.
  • The two brink chimneys are being rebuilt with new bricks similar to the original.
  • New metal roofing is being installed, similar in colour and profile to what was existing.
  • Changes to the substructure will not be visible.

Objects and materials located inside the building will be safely secured during construction. The MV Burnaby will be relocated to the front of the Richmond Boat Builders building for the duration of the project.

What to expect during construction

During construction, the public should expect closures to the boardwalk pathway in front of the Shipyard Building to facilitate the transfer of construction materials to and from the building. Additionally, the gravel parking lot to the north of the site will be closed for public use for the duration of the construction.

History of the Shipyard Building

Built in 1889, the Shipyard Building was constructed by the Anglo-British Columbia (ABC) Packing Company as a fish cannery, one of many located along “Cannery Channel”. Later, in 1917-18, the Shipyard Building was converted into a maritime repair facility for ABC’s fleet of fishing boats. The company eventually shut down operations in 1980, and the building sat empty until it was acquired by the City of Richmond. The building was opened to the public as part of the heritage park in 1995. 

Britannia Cannery c1901 ra1991 2 26
3D Virtual Tour

For a virtual look inside the Britannia Shipyard building (pre-2025 reconstruction) view a 3D tour here.


Contact

For more information, please contact Abbas Clayton at aclayton@richmond.ca.